Health Matters ∞ From SAD to Raw Week 2

Cow’s milk is for calves. You have no more need of cow’s milk than you do rat’s milk, horse’s milk or elephant’s milk. Cow’s milk is a high fat fluid exquisitely designed to turn a 65 lb baby calf into a 1400 lb cow. That’s what cow’s milk is for! Dr Michael Klaper MD

Yesterday marked the end of 2 weeks with our new lifestyle, and things are going great.  The transition really was enjoyable and not nearly as challenging as I anticipated it would be.  The feelings of improving health came surprisingly quickly, and were a great reinforcement to bolster my committment to this new way of life.  I simply feel healthier.  My skin is clearer.  I have lost 8 pounds to date.  I have experienced almost no cravings for sweet things.  My appetite is satiated by the foods I am preparing.  (I had wondered if I would feel hungry eating raw.)  My energy levels are rising.  It’s been a busy time, as I have had to do a lot of reading and video viewing, but it has been fun too, looking up new recipes and methods of food prep, all of this being a nice change from the rather stagnant state I was in previously, culinarily speaking.  We are enjoying more fresh foods (rather than cooked).  There is an interesting article linked at the bottom of this post which explains why raw foods provide less energy (i.e. have fewer calories) than cooked.  I’m sure that is a big part of the fairly rapid weight loss I am experiencing.

April 3 was another red letter day here as we made the decision to give up dairy.  As with most matters, you can find information both for and against consuming dairy products.  I have been suspicious of the effects of dairy for quite a long time, but I never got around to a making a definitive decision.  We switched to organic milk and yogurt about a year ago, hoping to offset a lot of the problems related to the hormone-laden regular milk products.  However, after watching  the video below, I knew that dairy had to go completely.  The science he presents is irrefutable and, quite frankly, highly aggravating to me, and  just one more example of how we are sold lies as truth.  As I found with my post on microwave ovens, the information is all there for the finding, but a person has to have the time and energy to invest in chasing down the real facts we are not supposed to know.   (You can start at  the 7 minute mark if you want to skip the introduction to his talk.)

                               
So dairy is gone, and we are learning how we can replace it with other healthier alternatives.  While we have been trying out different boxed drinks (almond, rice, hemp, oatmeal milks – never, ever soy) for the past couple of months, we finally made our own almond milk and found, not surprisingly, it had a better, fresher taste than store-bought.  My daughter says it tastes less dry, if that makes any sense.  Here is the method we followed to make it, which includes important information about pre-soaking the almonds.

A heads up for any one who might have a brain-injured family member – almonds are a great source of glutaminic acid (forms glutamine, precursor to GABA - gamma-Aminobutyric acid), which naturally elevates the production of key neurotransmitters.  Brown rice is another great source, so next on our to try list is raw rice milk.  There are recipes for making milk from cooked rice, but I want to try the raw first.  Happily you can find videos on youtube to teach you how to do almost anything in the kitchen.   

I still have a lot to learn before I can say that I know we are getting everything we need in our diet, but I am happy with the start we have made.   We are also scaling back on our meat consumption, hopefully working to mostly meatless (credit again to Dr. McDougall’s video).  Here are some examples of how we are eating.  I am a big fan of stir-fry, and now especially, as I can cook the veggies just very lightly so they still have lots of crunch. 

breakfast: green smoothie w/barley powder 
lunch: almond, chocolate, coconut shake; guacamole w/organic corn chips 
supper:  turkey, oven roasted potatoes, rappini

breakfast: green smoothie w/barley powder 
lunch: lentil soup (leftovers)  
supper: chicken w/rice, butter lettuce with tomatoes, sunflower seeds, and raw dressing

breakfast: green smoothie w/barley powder
lunch: green salad/w sunflower and hemp seeds
supper: stir-fried rice (delicious! – pictured above)

The barley powder is something I came across at a sample booth at our local health food store about 6 months ago.  It’s a sprouted barley product which is organic and locally grown.  The video below is from the people who manufacture the product.  I am not connected to them in any way, just a big fan.  I am guessing it has similar properties to wheat grass juice (something to look into further), but comes in a much more convenient format so you can easily include it in your diet on a daily basis.    

So, until the next update…good health to you!

 

About motherbarbarian

White female, mother, trying to find the answer to the universe. Maybe write some wrongs.

Posted on April 11, 2012, in Health Matters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comment is very welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

